web space | free website | Business Web Hosting | Free Website Submission | shopping cart | php hosting



Release Date: Sept 12 2000
Label: Righteous Babe Records


"Multitalented bassist extraordinaire Sara Lee has finally broken out on her own and released the wonderful and aptly titled debut album Make It Beautiful. For too long, Lee's been better known for the artists and groups with whom she's worked -- a list that reads like a Who's Who of all that's hip, critically cool, and worth listening to in contemporary pop music -- than for her own unique musical persona. With Make It Beautiful, she finally emerges from behind the shadow of her peers to assert her own captivating musical vision.
Besides Lee's beautiful voice and musical chops, exemplified by the wonderfully quirky funk of the bass lines she's perfected over the years, Make It Beautiful features songwriting and musical support from a number of noted musical artists, including DiFranco, Emily Saliers of the Indigo Girls, Gail Ann Dorsey, Kristen Hall, Pal Shazar, and Andy Gill of Gang of Four.
~Karl Knapper

"After 20 years touring and recording with the likes of the B-52s, Indigo Girls, Joan Osborne, Robert Fripp, Fiona Apple, Robyn Hitchcock, Gang of Four, Thompson Twins, and our own Mister DiFranco, bassist Sara Lee is a sister doin' it for herself, too, these days. On her debut solo album, she dishes out 10 tracks of pop-funk pleasure, with lyrics by 5 acclaimed women songwriters, including Ani D and Emily Saliers (Indigo Girls). Producer Peter Scherer (Ambitious Lovers) and guest artists Ivan Neville, Pee Wee Ellis, Cyro Baptista, Gail Ann Dorsey, BETTY and Andy Gill join forces to bring Lee's music to life and (you guessed it) make it -- beautiful."
~Righteous Babe


Make It Beautiful
My Way
I'll Wait for You
Hood over Hood
Thin Ice
Come Round
All Cried Out

Album Credits
Sara Lee: Primary Artist
Zachary Alford: Drums
Carla Azar: Drums
Cyro Baptista: Percussion
Ani DiFranco: Background Vocals, Guitar
Gail Ann Dorsey: Background Vocals
Charley Drayton: Drums
David Cast: Tenor Saxophone
Andrew Gill: Electric Guitar
Harvey Jones: Keyboards, Engineer, Mixing, Producer, Programming
Ann Klein: Guitar
Ivan Neville: Clavinet
Peter Scherer: Keyboards, Engineer, Mixing, Producer
Eric Schermerhorn: Guitar
Bruno Speight: Guitar
Eran Tabib: Guitar
Gary Valente: Trombone
Adam Widoff: Guitar
Susan Alzner: Photography
Neil Dorfsman: Mixing
Ted Jensen: Mastering
Brandon Mason: Engineer, Mixing assistant
Steve Price: Engineer
Dante de Sole: Engineer
Vic Steffens: Engineer
Bill Synan: Engineer


Purchase online:
at Basic Lee (Official Webpage)
at Amazon (has Real Audio tracks)
at Barnes and Nobles (has Real Audio tracks)

Return to Discography   Return to Index